Buddy DeFranco's Online CD Store!

Nobody Else But Me

Nobody Else But Me Now On Sale!

An Online Exclusive! You can't get this title anywhere else online or in stores!
Tracks: (click on highlighted tracks for streaming music)
  1. Just Friends
  2. Autumn Leaves
  3. My Man's Gone
  4. Nobody Else But Me
  5. The Lamp is Low
  6. This is All I Ask
  7. A Sure Thing
  8. Opus III
  9. Deep Night
  10. Five Notes of Blues
  11. Moon Song
  12. Goodbye
  13. All Too Soon
  14. Lisanne
  15. Lover
Buddy DeFranco--clarinet with the Metropole Orchestra
Arrangements by Rob Pronk On the Hark Records Label

I was listening to Ellington and Basie records, and especially to Benny Goodman and Artie Shaw. Then came the BeBop revolution, and I heard some by a guy by the name of Buddy DeFranco. I couldn't believe it! I was already in awe of Charlie Parker, Dizzy Gillespie, Bud Powell and the birth of the "altered chord," but to listen to Buddy perform this extremely complex music on such a devilishly difficult instrument was absolutely astounding! Well, as a clarinetist, there went my smugness. I figured I best concentrate on being a disc jockey, I mean let's face it, Buddy was the Champ!

I could easily write more about my idol, but suffice it to say these recordings with the great arranger Rob Pronk are further illustrations of Buddy DeFranco's marvelous contribution to MUSIC. His sound, technique, imagination, and respect for the instrument are simply incredible---and last but not least, he happens to be a very nice man. Written by Chuck Niles